Non-destructive material testing

Terahertz (THz) technology has great potential in the areas of non-destructive material testing, communication and security technology. A particularly powerful technique is the THz time domain spectroscopy, in which short THz pulses are coherently detected in amplitude and phase. The key components are efficient THz sources and low-noise detectors. We develop these components, in particular we offer large-area photoconductive emitters that allow one to conveniently produce strong THz waves upon pulsed near-infrared laser excitation.

Terahertz-header

Terahertz Technology

Terahertz radiation lies on the electromagnetic spectrum between the long-wave radio and microwaves and the invisible infrared range.

The technology for the terahertz range uses concepts from high-frequency electronics as well as from optics. In the last 20 years there has been a significant further development in THz components such as radiation sources, detectors and modulators.

Large-area photoconductive radiation sources have been developed at the HZDR, which have a number of advantages such as:

  • High efficiency in the conversion of near-infrared power to THz power
  • Easy to use
  • Possibility of generating radiation with radial and azimuthal polarization in addition to the usual linear polarization. Radially polarized radiation is particularly suitable, for example, for transport using wire waveguides.
terahertz-grafik

Development of a complete THz radiation source and distributions of the electric field for linear, radial and azimuthally polarized fields. The points in the beam profile are experimental data, the lines come from a theoretical model.

terahertz-grafik
icon_teaser_anwendung_red

Application areas

THz radiation is interesting in many ways because it penetrates optically opaque materials such as paper or plastics, but, unlike X-rays, does not have an ionizing effect and therefore does not pose any health risks. Using THz spectroscopy, different materials such as semiconductors or organic substances can be characterized and identified. THz technology is already being used more widely in security technology, for example in the form of body scanners at airports. A very promising area of application is non-destructive material testing, for example when checking composite materials. In addition, high-performance communication systems are developing towards higher carrier frequencies and thus reaching the terahertz range.

Learn more about Terahertz Technology


What we offer

We have in-depth expertise on THz radiation sources and detectors as well as spectroscopic methods, which we provide as a consulting service.

We also offer various radiation sources for use with short-pulse laser sources that differ in their electrode geometry and area and can therefore be optimally adapted to the respective application. The large-area sources allow efficient use of the power of modern systems, which is not possible with standard antennas due to saturation effects.

THz_Emitter_inBox_20050317
THz_Emitter_inBox_20050317

Application example Terased

THz radiotion source for the lab bench


In the electromagnetic spectrum, terahertz radiation lies between the infrared range and microwaves. It offers new applications in materials research, medicine and other areas that have recently been intensively researched. With the TeraSED, researchers at the HZDR have developed an innovative, compact terahertz source.

Laser Quantum - a Novanta Company
Laser Quantum is a manufacturer of high quality solid-state and ultrafast laser sources.
Dr. Gregor Klatt, Business Development Manager representing the Photonics business units within Novanta
For more than a decade, we have trusted the large THz sources of the HZDR, which are there under the direction of Dr. Stephan Winnerl are manufactured in the highest quality.

icon_teaser_contact_white

Contact for Requests

Dr. Stephan Winnerl

Phone: +49 351 260 3522

s.winnerl@hzdr.de

Zerstörungsfreie Werkstoffprüfung, Kommunikation und Sicherheitstechnik

Die Terahertz (THz)-Technologie hat ein großes Potential auf den Gebieten zerstörungsfreie Werkstoffprüfung, Kommunikation und Sicherheitstechnologie. Eine besonders leistungsstarke Technik ist die THz-Zeitbereich-Spektroskopie, bei der kurze THz-Pulse kohärent in Amplitude und Phase detektiert werden. Die Schlüsselkomponenten sind effiziente THz-Quellen und rausch-arme Detektoren. Wir entwickeln diese Komponenten, insbesondere stellen wir großflächige photoleitende Quellen her. Diese sind sehr einfach in der Handhabung und effizient in der THz-Erzeugung bei Anregung durch kurze nah-infrarote Strahlungspulse.

Terahertz-header

Terahertz-Technologie

Terahertz-Strahlung liegt auf dem elektromagnetischen Spektrum zwischen den langwelligen Radio- und Mikrowellen und dem unsichtbaren Infrarotbereich.

Die Technologie für den Terahertz-Bereich verwendet sowohl Konzepte aus der Hochfrequenz-Elektronik, als auch aus der Optik. In den letzten 20 Jahren gab es eine deutliche Weiterentwicklung bei THz-Bauelementen wie Strahlungsquellen, Detektoren und Modulatoren.

Am HZDR wurden großflächige photoleitende Strahlungsquellen entwickelt, die über eine Reihe von Vorteilen verfügen wie z.B.:

  • Hohe Effizienz in der Konversion von Nah-infrarot-Leistung zu THz-Leistung
  • einfache Handhabung
  • Möglichkeit, neben der gängigen linearen Polarisation auch Strahlung mit radialer und azimutaler Polarisation zu erzeugen. Radial polarisierte Strahlung eignet sich beispielsweise besonders gut für den Transport mittels Draht-Wellenleitern.
terahertz-grafik

Aufbau einer kompletten THz-Strahlungsquelle und Verteilungen des elektrischen Feldes für linear, radial und azimuthal polarisierte Felder. Die Punkte im Strahlprofil sind experimentelle Daten, die Linen stammen von einem theoretischen Modell.

terahertz-grafik
icon_teaser_anwendung_red

Anwendungsgebiete

THz-Strahlung ist vielfach interessant, weil sie optisch undurchsichtige Materialien wie Papier oder Kunststoffe durchdringt, aber anders als Röntgenstrahlung nicht ionisierend wirkt und damit keine gesundheitlichen Gefahren birgt. Mittels THz-Spektroskopie lassen sich verschiedene Materialien wie Halbleiter oder organische Substanzen charakterisieren und identifizieren. Breiteren Einsatz findet THz-Technologie bereits in der Sicherheitstechnologie, beispielsweise in Form von Körper-Scannern an Flughäfen. Ein sehr vielversprechendes Einsatzgebiet ist die zerstörungsfreie Materialprüfung, beispielsweise bei der Kontrolle von Verbund-Werkstoffen. Weiterhin entwickeln sich leistungsstarke Kommunikationssysteme zu höheren Trägerfrequenzen und gelangen damit in den Terahertz-Bereich.

Erfahren Sie mehr über die Terahretz-Technologie


Was wir anbieten

Wir verfügen über fundierte Expertise zu THz-Strahlungsquellen und Detektoren sowie zu spektroskopischen Methoden, die wir als Beratungsleistung zur Verfügung stellen.

 

Wir bieten zudem verschiedene Strahlungsquellen für den Einsatz mit Kurzpuls-Laserquellen an, die sich in der Elektrodengeometrie und Fläche unterscheiden und somit optimal an die jeweilige Anwendung angepasst werden können. Die großflächigen Quellen erlauben eine effiziente Nutzung der Leistung von modernen Systemen, was mit Standard-Antennen aufgrund von Sättigungseffekten nicht möglich ist.

THz_Emitter_inBox_20050317

THz-Emitter in Box

THz_Emitter_inBox_20050317

Anwendungsbeispiel TeraSED

Terahertz-Strahlungsquelle für den Labortisch


Im elektromagnetischen Spektrum liegt die Terahertz-Strahlung zwischen dem infraroten Bereich und den Mikrowellen. Sie bietet der Materialforschung, der Medizin und anderen Bereichen neue Anwendungen, die seit kurzem verstärkt erforscht werden. Mit dem TeraSED haben Forscher am HZDR eine innovative, kompakte Terahertz-Quelle entwickelt.

Referenz von unserem Kunden Laser Quantum

Laser Quantum - a Novanta Company
Laser Quantum entwickelt hochwertige Festkörper- und Ultrakurzpuls-Laserquellen.
Dr. Gregor Klatt, Business Development Manager der Photonik-Geschäftsbereiche von Novanta
Schon seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt vertrauen wir auf die großflächigen THz-Quellen des HZDR, die dort unter der Regie von Dr. Stephan Winnerl in höchster Qualität gefertigt werden.

icon_teaser_contact_white

Kontakt für Anfragen

Dr. Stephan Winnerl

Tel.: +49 351 260 3522

s.winnerl@hzdr.de